Preliminary Horror Genre

Reflection: 

The purpose of making this video is to become increasingly knowledgeable about various editing techniques that I can utilise in order to make the depict a variety of genres.  To achieve this, I modified the same footage from my continuity editing video to denote the horror genre.

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 8.53.13 am

The whole timeline sequence

I used ‘Colour Balance’ to change the video, giving it a redish tone.  This helps the audience decipher the horror genre as I have applied a conventional colour of the horror genre. I used different aspects of ‘Colour Balance’ in each clip to match them since they denote different light shades. Even though the lighting is still not matching, I’ll try to improve more in matching the filter.

Horror2     Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 9.52.05 am

Horror4     Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 9.52.27 am

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 9.01.18 am     Horror7.1

Different brightness and contrast tones were used, which depended on the natural lighting of my shot, as well as dulling the bright lighting so that I can bring out the eeriness.

Horror1     Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 9.52.05 am

Horror3     Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 9.52.27 am

Horror7     Horror7.1

I even put gaps in between to create a bit of suspense which conforms to the codes and conventions.

Horror11     Horror12

I intend to reduce the speed and increase the duration of each action of the footage making it in slow motion with regard to help the clip looks more suspenseful.

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 9.59.37 am

Before

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 9.55.04 am

After

Originally, the characters in the running scene were actually late to class but in this scene it can be described as if they are being chased.  They end up somewhere dark,  which also applies to the conventions of the horror genre. The use of non-diegetic sound helps to set the mood of a horror film. I put the exponential fade at the end of the sound to make the video finishes smoothly.

Here are the mistakes that I should have avoided. Using too much colour editing makes it too ‘heavy’ for the audience to accept and sometimes it looks unnatural. Some scenes have different natural lighting, applying all the scenes to the same colour balance wouldn’t make the scenes match each other. For example, between these two scenes, the filter is not matched at all.

Screen Shot 2015-11-08 at 11.29.11 pm  Screen Shot 2015-11-08 at 11.29.27 pm

I should have carefully matched the editing colour to make it look more realistic!

Will you consider using these techniques in your coursework?

This is just for practice, I may not use them in my coursework since my coursework genre is far from a horror film, but the skills definitely will help me in the future if I ever create a horror genre video.

Leave a comment