Ghost Lover Version 1

This is the first version of my official Trailer.

Analysis:

For the first draft I fully followed the storyline and sequences based on my updated script.

The trailer started off with disclaimer. This helps to connote the codes and conventions of an official trailer. However, I’ve already made a huge mistake at the start of the trailer. I chose the wrong disclaimer from Google Images. This makes me realise that I shouldn’t simply take other people pictures from google and not viewing the photo in detail. The disclaimer looks like this:

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 10.30.39 am.png

I wanted to have a PG-13 disclaimer and I saw this in Google and I simply took it until then I realised that the information says that ‘for some disturbing thematic material, violence, sexuality and brief drug use’ and this totally subverts my narrative cue of my production.

For this version, I accumulate all the scene that I wanted to use, trim the parts that I don’t need and arrange it in the right sequence based on my script. So this is how my timeline looks like:

V1 - 2.png

For some clips that are supposed to have non-diegetic background music, I cut the audio for those clips and just drag the video to the timeline. These scenes is actually boring to watch when there is no sound. The video will have a big different once the background music is use. I didn’t create my original sound yet. Therefore, I couldn’t put it on my timeline.

The female character (Zoella) is the first to show up in the trailer to conform the conventions of film trailer where the main character always be the first one to show up.

Even when I cut the parts I don’t need, the video is in 3 minutes which means there are more parts that I need to cut in order to make it within 2 minutes.

There are several mistakes I’ve made during the filming. In this video I used the original footage that contains the mistakes I’ve made. The first mistake was the camera placement when Zoella, Laura and Dylan were having a conversation in front of the locker. The camera was positioned like this when Zoella is talking, to look at Zoella’s face expression.

V1 - 4

When Laura and Dylan were talking, the camera was placed like this:

V1 - 3

It turns out to be bizarre.

Same problem for the below scene where I subvert the guidelines for 180 degree rule. The lighting is also unbalanced therefore I need to adjust the lighting and makes it brighter.

I inserted the transition as well to smooth up the video such as cross dissolve, film dissolve, additive resolve and fade to black.

V1 - 1.png

Above image shows the the split screen editing in this sequence as well where I layered the clips on top of each other and make the size smaller and adjusted the position so that there will be a collage of 4 clips at the same time. I played the video one by one in order sequence. After one clip finished showing, I replaced that with screenshot of the last part of the scene and show it for the whole time when other scenes are showing. I used linear wipe in video effects for the each scenes to appear one by one from right to left.

V1 - 5.png

 

Leave a comment