Romance Genre Editing

Reflection:

Similar as horror genre and film noir sub-genre editing, the purpose is again to be able to use various editing techniques that can denote the specific genre. This time I tried to make a romance genre using the same footage from continuity editing.

Romance1

Timeline Sequence

This time my editing is just a simple editing with mixed up of video transition, audio transition, slow motion and different audio level.

I used additive dissolve in between the shots in order to show that time is moving on while the character is cleaning up her locker. The purpose is also to match up two different perspectives and alternate them, in order to make it alternating smoothly, I used dissolve transition where it helps two different perspectives are connected.

Romance2

Video Transition

Audio transition that has been used is exponential fade only. This has been excessively used for my audio because every time there is a diegetic sound I tend to  slower down the volume of non-diegetic sound. I can’t slower down the sound abruptly. Therefore, I put exponential fade transition to slow down the volume smoothly. Then, I changed the level volume of the non-diegetic sound to -10.0dB. It helps the audience to hear the conversation between characters clearly.

Romance3

Audio Transition

Before

Before

After

After

I even slowed down the speed of the video from 100% to 50%. Since this isn’t a horror or action films that needs fast-pace editing to boost up the intensity, it would be the opposite for romance genre. The slow-pace editing emphasise uncontrollable emotions between the characters.

Romance6

The parts where I reduced the speed:

Romance6.1

Romance6.2

Romance6.3

Problems with this editing: 

The background music sound is a bit off. I should have used soft pop music in order to conform the codes and conventions of romance genre instead of using techno music. This non-diegetic song doesn’t fully bring out the romantic atmosphere. The sequence of the video also doesn’t have any elements that related to romance but I still managed to maintain this genre with high key lighting.

Since this is just for practice editing regardless the film sequence, I would come out with better storyline that would match up with the romance genre next time. I will also choose the most suitable non-diegetic song for my main production that helps to bring out the atmosphere.

Leave a comment