Green Screen Editing

Green screen is one of the film techniques where moving objects are filmed in front of the green background which enable the film background to be superimposed to the final image. Green screen predominantly help for filming especially for situation such as news for weather forecast, being in the space and other background image that I couldn’t get easily.

There are several reminders that I need to keep it in mind to produce a successful final video with superimposed background by using green screen. Firstly, the green screen need to be set up as tight as possible without any visible crease. The crease would be the barrier to film a better quality of green screen editing because the shadows would be seen, making the transparent background of green screen is unnatural. I may need to iron the fabric green screen in order to keep the wrinkles away.

Secondly, the light need to be evenly set up in order to not have any visible shadow across the entire screen. The key for lighting is consistency. The lighting normally set up higher than the characters and it is facing down to the characters. It would be better to have two lights in order to evenly light up the screen from both right and left sides. I would need to adjust the light positions and filters until I get the best compromise.

Lastly, the actions from the objects need to be within the green screen area from camera’s perspective. This is because when the character is moving where the body is still in the green screen area but his/her hand is outside of the green screen, it would be cut off from the screen during the editing.

Here is a video of practice using green screen.

Green Screen Reflection:

I’ve avoided as much as possible to not have any mistakes during the filming. Due to the difficult circumstances I was still facing some problems but I know those mistakes I’ve made will help me to create a better green screen video in the future.

Since we only have a light standing, we couldn’t really lit up the light evenly. So my classmates and I decided to move the green screen under the ceiling lights in order to have better lighting. Although it was not the best lighting we’ve had, we still managed to reduce the shadows as much as possible. We were placing it like this at first:

IMG-20160119-WA0000.jpg

Then we moved the green screen to this position due to the lighting problem:

DSC_0486.JPG

I had problems with all the reminders I’ve mentioned which include lighting, visible crease and actions out of the green screen. Nevertheless, I’ve managed to encounter those problems in editing session.

The character’s hand went out of the green screen area from camera perspective when she jumped down but I managed to edit this part where I reposition the characters to the very left so that it doesn’t look like her hand went missing like this.

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 8.30.15 pm.png

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment