Film Noir Genre Editing

First Version 

Reflection – First Version: I chose film noir as one of the genre editing technique so that I can practice with different kind of effects needed to make the storyline depict the genre. For the first version, I simply put up the footage together and put the black and white effect. For the first two footage, I just practicing by putting Noise HLS as a video effects in order to bring out the grain editing thus applying to the codes and conventions of film noir.

FN3

Timeline Sequence

FN2

Noise HLS used to bring out the grain editing style.

The parts where I used Noise HLS:

FN2.1     FN2.2

Black & White Video Effects

Black & White Video Effects

For the audio transitions I used Constant Power and Exponential Fade. These transitions have been used in order to change the audio level of non-diegetic sound smoothly.  I also used fast paced non-diegetic sound for the background music.

FN4 FN5

But then, I just realised I actually don’t fully understand how film noir editing supposed to be. I didn’t really applying to the codes and conventions of film noir for the first version. This is very unconventional editing of film noir. Hence, I decided to make the second version and try my best to apply the codes and conventions of film noir.

Second Version

Reflection Second Version: This is the most challenging part where I need to match up the lighting effects. I modified mostly everything from the first version including the lighting effects and the background music used.

FNV2-1

Timeline Sequence

These are the parts where I used Noise HLS with low key lighting.

FNV2-2

FNV2-3

The lighting changed to very low key lighting or chiaroscuro lighting. This lighting used to make a location or character seem very dramatic and unusual. There are four main effects that I used in order to bring out the lighting effects perfectly conforming to film noir genre. The four main effects including Black & White, Brightness & Contrast, ProcAmp and Lighting Effects.

Four main things needed.

Four main things needed.

For the Lighting Effects, I used either omni or spotlight as a light type in order to make the character’s face brighter but the character’s background darker. Sometimes, I used both of omni and spotlight simultaneously. For the below footage, I used Omni as a light type. I moved the position of omni on the character’s face so that her face look brighter while I changed the background. I also set the size of the omni by changing the major and minor radius. I changed the brightness and contrast making it looks darker.  The brightness and contrast depending on the natural lighting of the video. For the whole effects of lighting are the fundamental thing that signifies film noir.

FNV2-7

FNV2-7.1     FNV2-7.2

Other example where I used 4 main components creating the low key lighting:

FNV2-8

FNV2-8.1     FNV2-8.2

I have also learnt how to make the omni and spotlight lighting moved following the characters. This is something new for me. I’ve never thought that it would be this is easy even though this technique requires precise and keen eyesight as well as high patience. I have neither of them. Keen eyesight? I’m wearing glasses. High patience? Sometimes I have, most of the time I don’t. I clicked on the toggle button of the centre that’s when I marked first position of omni and spotlight. This will be appeared as key frame indicating where and where the lighting is appearing. The second key frame, I simply move the position of the centre either to the right or left, upwards or downwards. Same goes for the next key frames. When I have settled, the lighting will gradually follows the characters moves. This is also the part where I used both omni and spotlight lighting at the same time.

FNV2-9

FNV2-9.1

I changed the background music to something that is slow pace music and it is a bit intense in order to conforming the codes and conventions of film noir. Sound effects are often used in film noir editing to reflect the atmosphere of the location. Again I conventionally used constant power when I tried to change the level of the volume for non-diegetic sound.

FNV2-4     FNV2-5

Problems encountered with second version: The lighting is a bit inconsistent. Some parts look brighter which doesn’t rely conforming that’s a film noir. I would try my best to do this editing precisely and preparing to have high patience if I ever come cross editing film noir sub-genre again.

Will you consider using this technique in your coursework?

I am most likely not going to use this technique for my coursework production since my production genre is romantic comedy. These two genres are totally the opposite. I need high key lighting or natural lighting to bring out the romance or comedic atmosphere, rarely use low key lighting.

Comparing First & Second Versions:

FN7     FNV2-10

FN8     FNV2-11

FN9     FNV2-12

FN10     FNV2-13

FN11     FNV2-14

FN12     FNV2-15

Leave a comment